Speaking Up and Speaking Out (for White Folks)

--

As a white teacherā€“one of the roughly 80% that make up all U.S. educatorsā€“ Iā€™ve perpetuated, engaged in, and been complicit in curricular violence (Ighodaro & Wiggan, 2011) more often than I care to count during my over two decades of working in education. There was the time my colleague and I coerced our students into participating in a ā€œprivilege walkā€ in order to prompt a discussion about social, cultural, and economic privilege. Another time, both my colleague (a different one) and I said and did nothing but exchange looks across the room when a white visitor to the class noted out loudā€“in front of everyoneā€“how ā€œarticulateā€ one of our multiracial students was. Then there were the years when my classroom libraryā€™s only representations of Black, Brown, Indigenous, Latinx, or Asian protagonists were relegated to the dusty corners of Historical Fiction.

And like any white person who has been socialized in this country, Iā€™ve been complicit in racial violence in my personal life, too, though Iā€™ll save you any additional cleansing of my soul via digital confessional. Letā€™s just say that Iā€™ve likely enacted enough harm over the past forty-six years that Iā€™ll spend the rest of my life attempting to repair it andā€“hopefullyā€“prevent it from happening again (although Iā€™m a realist at heart, soā€¦Iā€™m fully aware that Iā€™ll continue to screw up, and badly).

A lot of this work entails a preventative approach: helping white folks like me conduct a racial ā€œexcavationā€ of sorts, unearthing and exposing the ways in which our whiteness has invaded our hearts, minds, and bodiesā€“much like a parasite doesā€“informing our every move. This excavation work is challenging enough; like someone suffering from brainwashing, one cannot generally help the person afflicted with whiteness to heal until the afflicted wishes to help themself. But what is even more challenging, Iā€™ve found, is attempting to help folks oscillate between the ā€œlooking inward modeā€ and the ā€œtaking direct actionā€ modeā€“especially when it comes to speaking up and speaking out about another white individualā€™s engagement with racial violence, particularly when it happens in the professional/educational sphere.

For white folks like me, this is because many of us have been taught to avoid conflict, especially with other white folks: ā€œDonā€™t ever bring up religion or politics!ā€ our families warn us from a young age. Of course, this is a prime example of how white supremacy maintains itself. Avoid talking about it, avoid teaching about it, andā€¦*poof*!ā€¦it doesnā€™t exist.

Iā€™ve discovered over the years that one of my superpowers, for better or worse, is speaking up. Why? Because I canā€™t in good conscience ask my children or my students to be ā€œupstandersā€ (Power, 2002) when I myself am too fragile, too overcome with anxiety, to be one myself. I quite literally canā€™t; staying silent about injustice causes me to lose sleep. And rest is too precious for me as an educator, parent, advocate, and woman in this world.

So I speak upā€“especially when I see examples of curriculum violence being enacted by fellow white educators. At least, I try to. One of my brothers sometimes jokes with me about how many white male educators Iā€™ve ā€œbulliedā€ each day. (Heā€™s kiddingā€¦I think.) I donā€™t always get it right, I almost never come out of it unscathed, and I continue to learn from the example of others. And over the past several years, as my impulsive tendency to speak up has made its way into my online communities, the biggest question I am askedā€“usually in private and almost always by fellow white educatorsā€“is, ā€œHow do you do it?ā€

Here is what I tell them. Here is what Iā€™m telling you, if youā€™re also wondering.

  1. Name your fears. Youā€™ve been socialized into white supremacy for your entire life. Itā€™s ok to be afraid. Itā€™s not okay to let your fears around ā€œbreaking rankā€ with other white folks stop you from doing so. What are you afraid of? Name itā€“then metaphorically stomp it to pieces as you get ready to use your šŸ™ƒunearned social capitalšŸ™ƒ and step the fuck up.
  2. Identify 3ā€“4 ā€œgo-toā€ sentence stems. What language works best for you? Iā€™ve learned from several different folks that it can be helpful to name what you are about to do: ā€œIā€™m going to push back on that for a moment.ā€ Sometimes it helps to ask a question first: ā€œMay I share a concern?ā€ Other times, simply saying what you notice or wonder is useful (ā€œIā€™m noticing thatā€¦ā€/ā€I wonder ifā€¦ā€). Follow bright, compassionate folks whose approach to this work of ā€œcalling inā€ curricular violence you appreciate. My personal mentors include @AlexSVenet, @JennBinis, @biblio_phile, @ChristieNold, @LyricalSwordz, and @doxtdadorb**.

**NOTE: This does not give you permission to make a direct ask for these fine folksā€™ labor without compensation. If you are not already following them, please do so and spend some time in that listening/learning space.

3. Be prepared for the inevitable. Youā€™re going to get pushback, especially as a white person calling in another white person. They will likely engage in one or more of the following:

  • Blame-gaming: ā€œOh, that wasnā€™t my decision/choiceā€¦ā€
  • Gaslighting: ā€œThatā€™s not at all what happened.ā€/ ā€œYouā€™re seeing something that isnā€™t there.ā€
  • Fauxpologies: ā€œIā€™m sorry if YOU feel/think ________.ā€
  • Eye-rolling: ā€œAre you serious?ā€ / ā€œNot this againā€¦ā€
  • Tone-policing: (BONUS TIP: this usually happens passive-aggressively when someone who is adjacent to you is thanked in your presence/mentions for their ā€œcivilā€ or ā€œkindā€ tone. You know, kind of like when some teachers say, ā€œI like how Patty is raising her hand!ā€)
  • Ignoring or ghosting: *crickets*
  • AND OCCASIONALLY: acknowledgement, thanks, promises to do better, naming of future actions

4. Show grace. Not for those enacting curriculum violence (because fuck them, right?). Iā€™m kidding! Remember, we all make mistakes. What I mean by this is, show some grace when you DO screw up and are called in yourself for it. But only give yourself a minute or two to wallow in your shame before you brush away your white tears and get back out there (after making a sincere attempt to learn and repair the harm you caused, of course).

5. Donā€™t get stuck in the ā€œIā€™m gonna just like and RT and share what other upstanders are doing and saying.ā€ We see you, and while we appreciate you doing this, donā€™t let that be the only thing you do. Because itā€™s fucking annoying always having to be the one to say something.

Thatā€™s all I got! Hope it helps. And if it doesnā€™t, please do me a favor and let me know why, so I can continue to learn. Because we need to get this right, yā€™all. Timeā€™s a-fuckinā€™-wastinā€™.

--

--

Shawna CoppolašŸ³ļøā€šŸŒˆ

I am an educator, a writer, an artist, & a troublemaker. Website: https://shawnacoppola.com/ Twitter: @shawnacoppola #blacklivesmatter She/Her/Hers